The Journey

21 09 2008

If I am not wrong it was in 1992 when I first saw a computer. My uncle bought it to manage his business(by just using Tally I guess). It was running Windows 3.1x and had a 5-1/4″ Floppy drive. I dont remember the rest of the configuration. He secured the system with a bios level password, so I dont get to play in it without his presence. PAC MAN was the first game which I played. Then moved to Dangerous Dave and Prince of Persia.

Later in 1995 he replaced the old pc with a better one which was running Windows 95. I couldnt sleep for whole week and just wanted to look at the START menu poping up.

In 1998 when I was in my 8th class my parents bought a pc for my brother who was in college. It was an Intel pentium machine with 2GB HDD(now I have a 16GB pen drive!), 64MB RAM, a CD-ROM and was running Windows 98SE(The best Windows OS so far IMHO!). Duke Nukem 3D was my fav game and I have completed it more than 50 times(Yes, I was insane!). Whenever I tried installing a Jedi game the computer would go mute and the volume controlled disappears from the taskbar resulting in a World War with my brother. And we used to carry the CPU to the person who assembled the system to get it fixed. Only after a few years I came to know that it was only the sound drive which gets uninstalled πŸ˜€ . Entering cheatcodes in Cricket 97 game was like hacking to me and made me feel like a geek.

In 2000, I finally got rid of the old pc and got a AMD powered machine which was ultra fast. This was the year when I also got an opportunity to work on iMac G3 which my other uncle had in his office. I just hate it because I dint find the Start button and only very few games were available on it.

In 2002, I myself assembled a system which is still there in my home but hardly works. I also got a CD BURNER using which I could burn my own CDs which was really cool πŸ˜‰ I also upgrated to Windows XP just for the sake of making my friends feel jealous.

In 2006, my brother bought me a HP Pavillion Laptop from US. It has a sexy 17″ glossy display with a full size keyboard. I was powered by a AMD 64bit processor and was running a genuine copy of Windows XP πŸ˜‰ It was my best buddy till May 2008.

I was bored upgrading the hardware and Windows OS for the past 8 years. So thought of making a big move to Apple’s Mac πŸ™‚ Though I have worked on an iMac for 2-3 hours I really had no clue about the OS and the Hardware. After a lot of research on net and seeing some videos on Youtube(Esp the Keynotes by Steve Jobs) I made my mind. I gave the HP laptop to my dad and bought myself a Macbook with 2.4Ghz intel core 2 duo processor, 250GB HDD, 2GB RAM, 13.3″ widescreen display and best of all Leopard OS X 10.5.

Its really unbelievable looking at the technologies growth. Hope after 10 years the Macbook that I own now would be like my uncle’s first computer which had a 5-1/4″ Floppy drive!


Actions

Information

Leave a comment